L.A., N.Y. among 8 cities named for new XFL


EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. — Los Angeles, the New York-New Jersey metropolitan area and Dallas were among the eight cities and venues chosen to be the home sites when the XFL launches its inaugural season in February 2020.

Commissioner and chief executive Oliver Luck also said there will be franchises in Houston, St. Louis, Seattle, Tampa and Washington when the league kicks off the weekend of Feb. 8-9.

“After months of research and consideration, we’re thrilled to announce the cities and venues of the XFL’s eight inaugural teams,” Luck said. “We are committed to being ingrained in the local community and extremely fortunate that our teams will have world-class facilities to call home.”

The football league founded by wrestling entrepreneur Vince McMahon will be absent in several of the largest television markets: Chicago, Philadelphia, San Francisco, Boston and Atlanta. Each team will have 45-man active roster and the league will play a 10-week regular season.

The XFL hopes to deliver a fan-centric, innovative experience, including fast-paced games and a family friendly environment, complemented by cross-platform viewing options and real-time fan engagement.

McMahon’s league played one season in 2001 and then was disbanded.

Articles You May Like

Fiery Sabathia shouts at Rays in tense Yanks win
Eagles’ Long says he’s retiring after 11 seasons
Sharks bothered by people saying they’re lucky
Why the Cubs have rebounded and the Nationals haven’t
Western Australia contract Murray Goodwin’s son Jayden for 2019-20 domestic season

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *