Haley wins at Texas, locks up spot in Truck finale


FORT WORTH, Texas — Justin Haley joined teammate Johnny Sauter in the four-man field for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship, winning at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday night for an automatic berth.

Haley raced to his third victory of the season, taking the lead with a half-lap remaining after fellow teenager Todd Gilliland ran out of gas. Haley locked up the second spot in the Nov. 16 season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, a week after GMS Racing teammate Sauter took the first position by winning at Martinsville Speedway.

Ben Rhodes was second, followed by playoff driver Brett Moffitt. Gilliland ended up fourth after leading a race-high 60 laps. Among the other championship contenders, Matt Crafton was ninth, Noah Gragson 10th and Grant Enfinger 12th.

Sauter had an unscheduled stop early after running over some debris and puncturing a tire en route to an 11th-place finish.

Articles You May Like

Ortiz holds 3-shot lead in Latin American Am
Players’ concussion settlement deadline extended
Shields latest injury concern for depleted England
UEFA report: European football profitable but gap between super-clubs and rest remains
What we learned from Pacquiao’s win over Broner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *